Skip to content

What should I do with press releases?

October 11, 2010

Hi friends!

I occasionally get press releases that I think you might be interested in.  Right now, they’re snug in their own “Press Releases” section in that tab up at the top.  Once they’re up there I tweet about them and include a link.

What I want to know, though, is if that’s the best way to get the word out about those kinds of things.  The other alternative is for me to post them like I would a regular blog post, and clearly identify them as press releases.  That’s something that I’ve kept away from that because they’re not things that I’ve written myself.  Looking at my traffic stats, though, it doesn’t look like the press release section gets a lot of traffic beyond clicks on those tweets.

So if you would be so kind, I’d appreciate your input.  Let me know what you think using the poll below and I’ll post the results in a week or so.  Thanks for your help!

-Kevin

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Elena Acoba permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:47 pm

    Do what reporters do: distill the information and then post a blog about the info. Most press releases aren’t fit to be read by the general public.

    Good luck!

    • October 11, 2010 9:08 pm

      Hi Elena – Thanks for the suggestion. The kicker is that I’m about the farthest thing from a reporter that you could imagine! Still, I kind of like that idea and may give it a shot the next time around. If it’s pretty quick then that may be the way to go.

      Thanks again!
      Kevin

  2. Rich permalink
    October 11, 2010 4:45 pm

    If you do leave press releases in their own section it would be nice to date them on the main listing page. Even better would be to remove the outdated releases 🙂

    • October 11, 2010 9:10 pm

      Hi Rich –

      Point well taken, but I really ought to do both. Sounds like time for a little housekeeping!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

      Kevin

      • October 11, 2010 10:41 pm

        Housekeeping done! I got rid of the old stuff and added posting dates as well as event dates as applicable. Thanks for the suggestion, Rich!

        Kevin

  3. Kelle permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:13 pm

    You could let us know when new press releases are posted with a short summary so we could look at them if we were interested.

  4. October 11, 2010 9:15 pm

    Hi Kelle –

    It sounds like you’re suggesting a sort of hybrid between what I thought were my only options. I really like that idea, though. Folks could see what was in the press release sections, but wouldn’t clog up my front page too much. I just might go that route!

    Thanks for the great idea!

    Kevin

Leave a Reply

