Skip to content

Guilty Pleasures

October 13, 2010

We all have them.  The things that we love to eat that we probably shouldn’t.  Things maybe we don’t even want people to know about.  I know I have mine, and now that we’re friends I think I can come clean about some of them.  I’m being vulnerable here, so try not to judge me!

1) Movie-theater buttered popcorn

 

Popcorn in bowl

Mmmmm, popcorn.

I love popcorn.  I have a special pan (the green monster) that I pop popcorn in a few times a week.  Popcorn popped on the stove in a small amount of oil really isn’t that bad for you – it’s low in calories and high in fiber.  But, when you get it in a giant sack at the movies and it’s drenched in ‘butter-flavored oil’ (whatever that is – and no, I’m not asking) it goes to a whole new level.   Kristine doesn’t like the faux-buttery goodness on her movie-theater popcorn, so this is one that I don’t get to have very often.  Probably a good thing.

 

White cheddar popcorn topping and popcorn salt

The best popcorn seasonings

Bonus!  You know what I’m really loving as a popcorn topping right now?  White Cheddar Popcorn Seasoning from Kernel Season’s.  Blockbuster carries has it in a display as you go through the checkout line.  It’s $.99 for a little shaker that seems to last for a very long time.

Extra Bonus!  Popcorn salt makes a huge, huge difference in the enjoyment level of stove popped popcorn.

2) Frozen pizza.

 

Frozen Hawaiian Pizza

An example of a frozen pizza. Photo credit: israelavila

There.  I said it.  I like a frozen pizza.  I mean, I cook it and everything, but there’s just something about hot, greasy, salty, preservative-filled, ‘fresh’-out-of-the-oven pizza that I sometimes cannot resist the siren song of.  Please don’t take my foodie card.

3) Double Western Bacon Cheeseburger from Carl’s Jr.

Double Western Bacon Cheeseburger & Fries

Double Western Bacon Cheeseburger

I’m not a big fan of traditional hamburger condiments such as ketchup, mayonnaise, or mustard, so when my mom told me there was a fast food hamburger without any of those things I was sold.  That was probably 25 years ago.  To this day, that’s my go-to quick burger.  The barbecue sauce, bacon, and onion rings together are a beautiful thing.  Now there are many imitators, but that’s the one that’s near and dear to my (clogged) heart.

4)  Carrot sticks

Not!  But it sure seems like I eat a lot of them.

5)  Fresh bread – right out of the oven.

Plate of pirozhki

Warm bready pirozhki

It’s a carbohydrate explosion of love.  This wouldn’t necessarily constitute a guilty pleasure if I didn’t eat half a loaf as soon as it cooled down enough.

So those are some of my fat- and carb-heavy faves.  They’re not things that I eat all the time – in fact most of them are very special treats for myself (especially now that my metabolism has taken a nose dive).

Now that I’ve bared my soul to you, what are your guilty pleasures and why?  I’ve shown you mine, now you show me yours!

-Kevin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    October 14, 2010 7:50 am

    Ummmm, apparently all of your readers eat SUPER healthy all the time. I think pumpkin scones from Starbucks are amazing. I’m fairly certain every time I eat one (well, split it with James) I get a few cavities and gain at least 3 pounds.

    Also, french fries from Eegees, with ranch dressing. When I write that it just looks gross, but tastes oh so good.

    I could probably go on and on….

    • October 14, 2010 8:05 am

      Yeah, Karen, I think my readers are all just kinda grossed out by this post. And I may have revealed a little too much about myself… Dang.

      So although I’m not a big fan of pumpkin things, I know a lot of people who wait all year for the return of Starbucks’ Great Pumpkin (in scone & latte form, of course). I’ve been told that the scones freeze well, just so you know.

      My girls are totally in love with Eegees fries and ranch, too. They say that their ranch dressing is better than any that you can pour out of a bottle, and always ask for extra ranch when they get fries. Health food it isn’t, but this post wasn’t about health food, was it?

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

      -Kevin

  2. October 31, 2010 6:03 pm

    I’m a new visitor and not grossed out AT ALL. lol I love popcorn – all types. And this post makes me want to go pop some on the stove right now. I think I’ll make kettle corn.

    Not too big on frozen pizza but I can dig it every now and then!

    🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

    Tia

    • October 31, 2010 8:03 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Tia!

      I’m glad to hear that I managed to not gross you out. Not too many comments on this one, so I was a little worried…

      I appreciate the comment – thanks for taking the time!

      Kevin

Leave a Reply

